Foods & Ingredients

Do Vegans Drink Milk?

Do vegans drink milk?

Veganism comes with a very specific definition, which, according to The Vegan Society, is: “a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.”

So when it comes to cows milk, goats milk, or any other kinds of milk that is derived from an animal product, the answer is a resounding “NO!” . You cannot consume dairy of any kind while being a vegan.

However, there are dairy-alternatives that are used the same way, and provides similar nutritive benefits, as dairy milk.

Take a trip to any grocery store and you will run across some kind of non-dairy milk. The most common are almond milk and soy milk, but there is also rice milk, coconut milk, hemp milk, cashew milk, and so many more to choose from. Each of these provide a different taste, texture, and nutritional profile.

 Almond milk

Almond milk is highly prized due to it’s more neutral taste. It is often fortified with Calcium and certain vitamins. But it has a very low protein content. However, due to it’s taste and malleability, many people love to use it for drinking, cooking, coffee, etc. It is similar to rice milk, but often has a less watery texture to it.

 Soy milk

Soy milk is the alternative that has been around longest. It has the best nutritive value, as well as 8 grams of protein per cup.But it has a really strong flavor and texture, which can turn many people off of it. Another high protein plant-milk would be the Silk protein blend. Is made with pea protein and a mix of almond and cashew milk.

        To read more about vegan protein sources check this out : How To Get Protein Without Eating Meat or Animal Products ?  

coconut milk    

You can use coconut milk  for drinking as well. However, it is scarcely fortified, and most coconut milk from a can is much better for cooking than drinking. You can make curries and stews with it, and it has been popular in many Thai dishes.

These non-dairy milks are an important part of a vegan diet. And can provide many vitamins and minerals that could be lacking, such as calcium and Vitamin D. These vitamins are essential for bone growth, and although you can find them in other sources, such as leafy greens and sunlight a. Adding fortified plant-milks to your diet is always a smart idea to ensure your bone health.

Gone are the days where going veganism required a huge lifestyle change. Now with the wide variety of vegan alternatives, from plant-milk to vegan cheese, you can still enjoy all the comfort foods from before, such as biscuits and homemade gravy, or breakfast cereal and milk, without breaching your morals to do so.

So, do vegans drink milk?. The answer is yes, vegans can drink milk, but only plant milks. They are great to cook with, drink plain, or make vegan chocolate smoothies with!

Post Comment